Spine-Center Rischke ­ Kompetenzzentrum für bewegungserhaltende Wirbelsäulenchirurgie

Freedom Lumbar Disc, Freedom Cervical Disc

The Freedom™ Lumbar Disc (FLD) and Freedom Cervical Disc are novel visco-elastic intervertebral disc prosthesis for the cervical spine and lumbar spine, which can be used to treat chronic back pain or chronic neck pain due to a spinal disc damage.

The unique design of this prosthesis, the new generation has the following advantages:

  • Restoration of normal mobility of the spine.
  • Restore stability of the spinal column.
  • Normal damping effect as that of the natural intervertebral disc.
  • Free mobility in all directions.
  • Full load capacity of the spine.
  • Restore the natural function of spinal joints, muscles, ligaments and tendons.

The Freedom™ Lumbar Disc (FLD) and Freedom Cervical Disc consist of two end plates of titanium (Ti-6Al-4V) and an elastic core (Cabosil), which is fixedly welded to the end plates.

CERVICALDISC3-4outlinedAxioMed Prothese

The elastic polymer core allows free movement in all directions; it is able to assume a natural cushioning and load, wherein the material is designed so that with increasing pressure load of the elastic core is stiffer and stronger. In this way the load on the spine is taken as a natural intervertebral disc. This unique design is the world’s first of its kind, the prosthesis after successful years of clinical trials since 2008 CE certified.

Detailed biomechanical and biological tests have proven a full tissue compatibility. Furthermore, the prosthesis durability tests has passed a shelf life of 50 million operations, 30 million load cycles under extreme shear stress without a single case of failure by the ISO standard 10993. These stress tests correspond to a lifetime of 50 years.

Spine-Center Rischke ­ Kompetenzzentrum für bewegungserhaltende Wirbelsäulenchirurgie

Freedom Lumbar Disc, Freedom Cervical Disc

Die Freedom™ Lumbar Disc  (FLD)  und Freedom Cervical Disc sind neuartige visko-elastische Bandscheibenprothesen für die HWS und LWS, die zur Behandlung von chronischen Rückenschmerzen oder chronischen Nackenschmerzen aufgrund eines Bandscheibenschadens eingesetzt werden können.

Das einzigartige Design dieser Prothese der neuen Generation hat folgende Vorteile:

  • Wiederherstellung der normalen Beweglichkeit der Wirbelsäule
  • Wiederherstellung der Stabilität der Wirbelsäule.
  • Normaler Dämpfungseffekt wie bei der natürlichen Bandscheibe.
  • Freie Beweglichkeit in alle Richtungen
  • Vollständige Belastungsfähigkeit der Wirbelsäule.
  • Wiederherstellung der natürlichen Funktion von Wirbelgelenken, Muskeln, Bändern und Sehnen.

Die Freedom Lumbar Disc und Freedom Cervical Disc bestehen aus zwei Endplatten aus Titan ( Ti-6AL-4V) und einem elastischen Kern (Carbosil), der mit den Endplatten fest verschweißt ist.

CERVICALDISC3-4outlinedAxioMed Prothese

Der elastische Polymer-Kern gestattet eine freie Beweglichkeit in alle Richtungen; er ist in der Lage, eine natürliche Dämpfung und Belastung zu übernehmen, wobei das Material so beschaffen ist, dass bei zunehmender Druckbelastung der elastische Kern steifer und fester wird. Auf diese Weise wird die Belastung der Wirbelsäule wie bei einer natürlichen Bandscheibe aufgenommen. Diese einzigartige Konstruktion ist weltweit die erste dieser Art. Die Prothese ist nach erfolgreichen, jahrelangen klinischen Studien seit 2008 CE-zertifiziert.

Ausführliche biomechanische und biologische Testverfahren haben eine uneingeschränkte Gewebeverträglichkeit  bewiesen. Ferner hat die Prothese Dauerbelastungstests nach der Iso-Norm 10993 eine Haltbarkeit von 50 Millionen Lastwechseln und 30 Millionen Lastwechseln unter extremer Scherbelastung ohne einen einzigen Versagensfall bestanden. Diese Belastungstests entsprechen einer Lebensdauer von 50 Jahren.